No one intends to be the cause of another’s death, but these situations do happen in Houston. Texas law does not differentiate between “involuntary manslaughter” or “voluntary manslaughter,” Manslaughter in Texas is committed when a person recklessly causes the death of another. However, there is an exception for various situations, including car crashes.
When a car crash leads to a fatality
Car accidents are a daily occurrence in the Houston area. Sometimes, sadly, these accidents are sometimes fatal, especially when the driver who caused the accident was reckless or intoxicated. A person can be charged with vehicular manslaughter if their reckless driving caused the death of another. A person can be charged with intoxication manslaughter if they recklessly cause the death of another while intoxicated.
Penalties for manslaughter
Manslaughter is a second-degree felony in the Lone Star State. The penalties will depend on the circumstances, but they can include a state prison sentence of two to 20 years and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Defenses against manslaughter
Any manslaughter defense needs to be tailored to the facts of the case at hand. Depending on the circumstances, it may be able to argue that the defendant only acted in self-defense or acted in the “heat of passion.” Ultimately, though, this post does not offer legal advice. Manslaughter charges are very serious and those facing such accusations will want to seek the advice of an attorney.