When Texas authorities find you to be in possession of marijuana, they may charge you with either a misdemeanor or felony offense. A felony offense brings with it harsher repercussions than a misdemeanor, and some of the consequences associated with felonies have the potential to have a serious impact on your quality of life.
So, what marijuana possession charges constitute misdemeanor offenses, and when do they become felonies?
Felony marijuana offenses
Per Texas NORML, whether your marijuana charge is a misdemeanor or a felony depends on how much marijuana you have on you. If you have less than 4 ounces, authorities typically charge you with a misdemeanor.
Now, if law enforcement officers find you in possession of between 4 ounces and 5 pounds of marijuana, you are looking at stiff felony penalties if that charge leads to a conviction. Having up to 5 pounds of the substance on you means a mandatory jail sentence of at least 180 days and no more than two years. Under these circumstances, expect to also face a fine that may be as high as $10,000.
If authorities charge you with having between 5 pounds and 50 pounds of marijuana, this, too, is a felony. It carries a jail sentence of between two and 10 years as well as fines of up to $10,000.
As you might imagine, penalties increase in severity from there based on how much marijuana authorities charge you with having. In the event that authorities charge you with possessing more than 2,000 pounds of the substance, expect to serve between five and 99 years behind bars in addition to paying up to $50,000 in fines.